How much headspace is too much?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wickerman

Reaction score
I'm just getting into making wild brews and wanted to know how much headspace is too much? I have 4 gals of a braggot of sorts in a 6 gal carboy that I added brett C to about a week ago. My plan was to add 1 gal cherry juice to it at some point down the line, so I'd have 5 gals and still have some room for new fermentation activity. If I don't open it at all, will it be a problem? Maybe I should just fill it up with water and honey to just below the top to be safe?
Any input is appreciated.
Thanks,
wickerman

If you keep a tight bung with a filled airlock you shouldn't have any issues. The CO2 will push outward until CO2 development ceases at that point you still have an air tight seal thanks to your airlock.

if primary is done, i wouldn't worry too much about needing headspace for a secondary fermentation caused by the cherry juice. if you have a 5 gal fermenter, i would transfer to that.

on the upside, you've got brett in there. that definitely helps with oxidation concerns.

what's the ABV of your braggot?

My thinking is the same as Hresvelgr's, but I don't know if it is right. I've been reading that the bung seal is not totally air tight, and that's my concern.
ABV should be around 5-6%. It was a bit of an experiment I did with a couple gallons of a grain "tea" (steeped like for an extract brew), and around 1lb honey per gallon.