How much apple concentrate to back sweeten apple port?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Shred

Former Microbrewery Founder & Pro Brewer
Reaction score
I'm experimenting with a cider kit which contained enough liquid apple juice concentrate to make 6 gallons of hard cider.

I cut the dilution in half to make 3 gallons of ~10% apple wine and will be fortifying with brandy.

Obviously, the concentrate has fermented out too dry for a port so I intend to back sweeten with frozen apple juice concentrate (after sorbating, of course). I have limited wine making experience and zero back sweetening experience.

Can anyone offer some approximations or starting points?

Thanks!

I'm experimenting with a cider kit which contained enough liquid apple juice concentrate to make 6 gallons of hard cider.

I cut the dilution in half to make 3 gallons of ~10% apple wine and will be fortifying with brandy.

Obviously, the concentrate has fermented out too dry for a port so I intend to back sweeten with frozen apple juice concentrate (after sorbating, of course). I have limited wine making experience and zero back sweetening experience.

Can anyone offer some approximations or starting points?

Thanks!

Really it's done to taste.
In part, the residual acidity has something to do with the final desired amount of backsweetening ... as do the other flavor components such as tannins, the fortification, and the aging process.
For the main fortified wine I make, which is Green Ginger Wine, I've had good results from letting the fortified product sit in bulk aging for a couple months to let a bit of maturation occur and then backsweetening etc to the desired taste after that. Though in your case I'm sure backsweetening now will be fine.

Anyhow ...

For sweetness taste testing ...