How I get 85% Eff. with MIAB

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SeraphX117

Reaction score
I am a college student who is tight on funds so I don't have an MLT with a spigot/drain of any type. It is just a rectangular 28qt igloo cooler. I mash in a brewing bag and after mash/batch sparge... simply remove the bag. At first I was getting 55-65% eff. but I found a trick to share with you.

When mash is done: furiously mix the grain so much of it is in suspension (gotta be quick)...quickly yank out the bag and remove liquid....do the same thing after sparging (I sparge at about 180 degrees for 5 min). do this twice with your sparge water...and then of course let the bag drain into something else while I retrieve the wort.

My technique isnt perfect..I get a bit more solids than usual but i just use my racking cane to siphon the liquid out while leaving the grain pieces behind.

Until I get the money to get a proper MLT this will have to do. But I have gotten ~85% eff. on my brews that I have done this on.

This is called the Brew In A Bag method and there are many threads about it. Great method tho. Been doing it for years! Definitely a cheaper AG option.

I call it Mash in a bag so it doesn't get confused with the method of doing all of this in the pot...it is exactly the same thing though.

Dont forget to press every drop you can out of the grain bag. Don't worry bout tannins or what ever. Just press as hard as you can.

No wort left behind!...just don't do what i did the first time and drop the bag onto the floor...the floor was sticky after 3 moppings

You sparge at 180? Don't you get astringency from that? Tannins are extracted above 170. Also, how do you sparge? The typical "dunk sparge" method that most of us BIABers use?