How do you pasteurize beer?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AlcoholFan420

Reaction score
I’m a beer noob I started drinking beer about a week ago. I really like Coors Banquet but I have only tried it Coors light and Miller High Life. Miller High Life was a little to bitter but I have made moonshine mead and wines. I read in the 1970s it was illegal to sell Coors past the Mississippi because it was unpasteurized. I know a little about brewing beer from reading but I never bought any because at $2 a beer it’s less expensive to drink liquor and as a teen I got a old English malt liquor drink and didn’t want to try a beer ever again. I actually like Coors Banquet though I had a 24oz an hour ago. But if you pasteurized it would it not be unable to form bubbles with sugar? Is home brew dangerous?

My last stout (packaged yesterday) cost me all of $0.55 a pint to make (ingredients, no other expenses added). With electricity added, it might come out to $0.60-$0.65 a pint to make/produce.

I started brewing my own because I never really cared for 95% (or more) of what was available for purchase. I can brew better than I could buy.

As for pasteurizing my brew. Nope, never done it. Don't need to. I'm sure someone who's done it will chime in. In theory, you should be able to bottle, carbonate, and then pasteurize to stop things. Personally, more work than it's worth. Also easier to take steps to make it not needed.

I keg and can my homebrew at this point (I've been kegging since 2011). I simply wait for things to be done before carbonating in fermenter (conical) and then package from there. Part fills a keg, the rest goes into cans. Ready to drink immediately after packaging (or right off conical if you wanted to).