How big of a goof did I make?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CPFITNESS

Reaction score
Newbie here, doing my first 5 gallon batch. Previously only done a 1 gallon kit from brooklyn brew shop which is an all grain kit. I didn't even know what an extract kit was until last week! Anyways, the 1 gallon kit came out great and I was hooked and went for a 5 gallon setup. I liked the beer I made the first time and decided to make it again however I made a little goof. I had so many things going on and accidentally added my first set of hops BEFORE the hot break of my boil. Because it was a 5 gallon batch it took quite awhile for it to get up to the hot break. yesterday , I took a gravity reading and then tasted the brew. It seems WAY more bitter than the 1 gallon batch I made the first time. Yesterday was day 8 in the fermenter. Also, my recipe called for adding 3 3/4 cups of maple syrup at the end of the boil. I thought I had bought enough but I was short 3/4 cup. Will this negatively affect my recipe? I assume that maple syrup is fermentable so perhaps it will marginally reduce the ABV. Is it possible that 3/4 cup of missing syrup is also contributing to the bitter taste? In my limited reading it seems like if I just keep going with the flow and let it do it's thing by the time it's bottled and ready to drink it will probably be fine.

I see nothing that seems that bad here. Part of brewing is learning something new each time. As long as you boiled the hops for 60 minutes, no worries. Over that, it will be more bitter, but dont sweat it at this point. I would measure more accurately next time though.

i'm unsure of how much the first set of hops before the hot break will affect your IBU's... but i'm doubting that it will very much.