Horizontal or Vertical Rhizome placement

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wheatmeister

Reaction score
Apologies in advance for such a newb question, but i cant seem to find the answer. When I place my newly arrived rhizomes in the ground, should i plant them vertically or horizontal to the surface? I presume I would want to point the shoots upwards, but am not sure. Thanks in advance for any help..

I'm pretty sure they go vertical. I saw a picture from hopunion and they showed it vertical.

I took the quote below from the linked page...also, the planting instructions that came with my rhizomes said vertical. That said, this is my first year planting, but so far the plants seem very invasive, and if I had them in the ground instead of containers, I would imagine they would take over, regardless of direction.