High alkalinity water, should I chance it?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jdudek

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Just move to a new house that is on well water. I got a water test done (attached). Alkalinity appears to be through the roof.
Adjustments.JPG

I was gearing to brew a Belgian saison. Is this water going to be bad news for the beer? Should I get some water from the store instead? Any simple additions I could make to correct?

I’m fairly new to water chemistry, never really paid attention to water before and made decent beer. Thanks for any advice.

The only thing that could be a concern is the high alkalinity. It's not crazy high, but if you don't add some form of acidity your mash pH will be high. So will your sparge pH, potentially extracting tannins from the husks at higher sparge temps.

In the fermenter, yeast may have a harder time dropping the pH too.
Enter your water profile and grain bill into Bru'nwater and see what's needed.

Thanks for the inputs, i am looking at the bru'nwater instructions right now. One other piece of relevant information is that i am doing a no sparge BIAB. One single rest at 150 F for 60 minutes. grain weight is 12.75 lbs of almost all pilsner malt, and starting water is about 7.5 Gallons.

so thin mash... from skimming a few other threads, there were some concerns about accuracy of the bru'nwater with thin mashes.

Your overall acid need will be in the ballpark of 125 mL of 10% Phosphoric Acid. That should roughly address both the 7.5 gallons of water at 191 ppm alkalinity and the "effectively" basic (with respect to mash pH range) Pilsner malt.

Last edited:
Your overall acid need will be in the ballpark of 125 mL of 10% Phosphoric Acid.
Yowsers that's a lot! Relatively speaking.