High ABV beer recipe!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ThaBrewFather06

Reaction score
I am new to home brewing and my first bre is coming in at around 5% ABV :( I really want to make a beer I can't go buy in the store. 5% ABV doesn't cut it to me. My second batch is mine and my buddies version of a dogfish head midus touch that had a OG of 1.082 and I'm hoping to get between 8 and 9 % ABV. My question to you guys is does anyone have a recipe for an IPA with a high ABV like the dogfish head 120 min IPA 17% or their olde school barley wine that comes in at 14.5%? Does anyone else feel like its not worth spending all that time brewing, and bottling, and waiting if they get the same or less ABV? Thanks guys if anyone can help its YOU!!!!

honestly, as one new brewer to another, i would advise against trying to brew a beer with such high gravity, here's why. are you doing all-grain or not?

1) equipment. it's difficult to mash such a large amount of grain, even if you have a 10 gallon cooler mash tun. it's just a lot of water and a lot of grain.
2) all the recipes i've seen require adding adjuncts (extra fermentables) because it's tough to get all the fermentables you need from grain alone. working with adjuncts is a new dimension to brewing. if you've done it and nailed it, then OK, but if not, do you really understand what to add and when to add it and how much? in its simplest form, you're just adding more sugar to your beer, but if you're trying to get a clone and not just shooting for a high abv, it's more complex than that.
3) yeast! you need sooo much yeast to finish that big a fermentation. consequently, you should be very familiar with yeast starters, counting yeast, pitching rates, etc.