HI, new member with no idea what I'm doing

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Good to be here. Hopefully I'll learn a lot. I'm in Rock Hill, SC and am new to the brew. Wanted new hobby, this seemed like a great one considering I can drink up my efforts when done.
Welcome!
As a relative newbie myself, I will offer a little advice.
1. Don't lead with your wallet. Keep it simple and cheap in the beginning. It is hard to beat a complete basic kit, for simplicity and cost effectiveness. Which leads me to,
2. Start with a kit, either a complete kit or just an ingredients kit. Think of it as doing a paint by numbers painting of dogs playing poker before you go to art school. The kit holds your hand a lot through your first batch. I will say this, though. You would probably find it worthwhile to upgrade to a better fermenter than a bucket. The Big Mouth Bubbler is good and I have four of them. The Fermonster looks good, too, I just don't have an excuse to buy another fermenter so I haven't tried one.
3. Keep everything that your beer touches absolutely clean during the process, at least from the boil to capping the bottles or kegging. If you use a clear fermenter you should keep it covered to protect from UV.
4. After your first kit, you could play around with a few extract batches but I would skip to the chase and get started with BIAB, Brew In A Bag brewing. Again, keep it simple. You will want at least a 10 gallon brew kettle, and a spigot is a very useful feature. A crawfish or turkey burner that runs off a propane tank works great as a heat sourse.