Help with my water

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

2005STi

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I've been brewing for 8 months, 5 extract batches and 6 all grain. I've been reading a lot and listening to the BN everyday on my long commute but haven't dove into the plethora of info on water yet. I was wondering if you guys could help me with how to tweak my water to make a nice IPA. None of mine have 'popped' like I'd like them to so far.

Here's my county's water analysis (in averages):

Alkalinity: 50 ppm
Aluminum: 17 ppm
Ammonia: 0.53 ppm (as Nitrogen)
Chloride: 32 ppm
Chromium: 0.07 ppb
Hardness: 6.9 gpg (as calcium carbonate)
Iron: 10 ppb
Manganese: 17 ppb
Nickel: 12 ppb
pH: 8.0
Phosphorus: 24 ppb
Silica: 5.1 ppm
Sodium: 9.0 ppm
Sulfate: 32.6 ppm

I'm sure some things are irrelevant but that just shows you how little I know about water Chemistry.

Thanks!

Hi everyone, I've been brewing for 8 months, 5 extract batches and 6 all grain. I've been reading a lot and listening to the BN everyday on my long commute but haven't dove into the plethora of info on water yet. I was wondering if you guys could help me with how to tweak my water to make a nice IPA. None of mine have 'popped' like I'd like them to so far.

Here's my county's water analysis (in averages):

Alkalinity: 50 ppm
Aluminum: 17 ppm
Ammonia: 0.53 ppm (as Nitrogen)
Chloride: 32 ppm
Chromium: 0.07 ppb
Hardness: 6.9 gpg (as calcium carbonate)
Iron: 10 ppb
Manganese: 17 ppb
Nickel: 12 ppb
pH: 8.0
Phosphorus: 24 ppb
Silica: 5.1 ppm
Sodium: 9.0 ppm
Sulfate: 32.6 ppm

I'm sure some things are irrelevant but that just shows you how little I know about water Chemistry.

Thanks!