HELP! Kegging - Silver Beer Line

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

motobrewer

I'm no atheist scientist, but...
Reaction score
I just replaced all my lines with ultra barrier silver beer hose. I have a munich helles I've had on a picnic tap. I've poured that with zero issues. I've been kegging for years. I've always had 10-12 psi and 10' lines. Always worked perfectly. The beer is not overcarbed.

I put 10' of this silver beer hose and I get nothing but foam. I mean pure foam is coming out of the tap. I can see the CO2 coming out of solution in the line.

Has anyone used this line? Any ideas? I'm at a loss and it's incredibly annoying.

I don't have any "regular" line to put on anymore. I got 50' of this stuff...

more info:

lines were cold, put them in the fridge overnight.

i just realized i had a 14.5 oetiker on one connection instead of a 13.3. Put a 13.3 on and still have foam.

i've poured like 5 pints of foam down the drain. i'm racking my brain here.

I have had similar issues. After combing through the threads, it seems that the barrier tubing must be smoother than the typical PVC serving tubing, so the pressure drop is less per foot. I have read that it requires 50% or more extra length to provide the same resistance as the standard 3/16 tubing. So somewhere in the 15' - 20' range at your pressure. Unfortunately, I have cut several lengths that look to be short, and since the tubing is rather pricey, pretty disappointing. I am considering either going to the standard, cheaper tubing, or reducing pressure on the kegs for serving purposes.

That's good info, but a fast pour would cause foaming in the glass. I have co2 coming out in the lines as it sits.

I guess I'm getting closer.

First problem was the wrong oetiker.