HELP!!! Christmas party kegging emergency!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

celticinnbrewery

Reaction score
Hi all. I am brand new to kegging (just got my kegging equipment today) and want to get a batch of Christmas homebrew in there, carbed up and ready to go by Saturday night for a party at my house. I wont be able to get the beer in the keg till Wednesday evening at the soonest. I was planning on just putting the keg outside in ice for the party (i live in Pittsburgh and its 20 - 30° outside). 1) is it possible to get the beer carbed in time; 2) How; 3) should i carb it up in my basement then take it outside on Saturday sometime or just do everything outside from the start?

Any advice is GREATLY appreciated!

~ CIB

Search for force carbonation. It is possible, just crank to 30 PSI from Wed to Sat and you should be ok. It will be a little "green", but will be drinkable.

raouliii said:
IMO, make sure you have about 10' of 3/16" id serving line between the keg and tap.

I have read this 10' of hose thing before from many places. When i ordered my kegerator
Conversion kit it came with 5 feet of 3/16 hose. At 12 psi and close to freezing it pours quickly with a perfect amount of head. Just like if i was at a bar.

I will be taking my kegs to a New Years party. I am going to see what the difference between 5 and 10 is.

celticinnbrewery said: