Help! Chest Freezer wiring to STC 1000 Controller

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

esahc161

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am a novice homebrewer, about two years, and I have just recently tried to construct a Keezer to start kegging my beer. I have built the collar and am about done but I have been having trouble with the wiring part....I am trying to identify which wires go where (I have absolutely no experience with wiring things). I understand the green grounded wires and white power wires, but my manual and the actual wires on my chest freezer are not labeled well at all.....Pics are included of every angle of my freezer's motor and wires and also of the temperature controller I have purchased.

Questions!
1. In picture #1 and #8, I am not sure which metal piece is the actual device taking the temperature readings in my freezer (it had a 1 to 8 scale but the lowest was still freezing!).

2. In picture #1 I have taken off the white and black wires from the green light that glowed when my freezer was turned on. But the device underneath it (better view in picture #5 or even #2) I have no idea what it is.....

3. Picture #3 I do not understand what most of the wires mean (as in where the power supply/sensor/heating/cooling wires are....see picture #6 for the STC controller and wiring diagram.

I have been trying to read and watch youtube videos on how to do this but I cannot find the freezer that I have!!! I have 4 beers sitting in the carboys ready to be kegged and I really do not want to bottle!! Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Pictures Index:
#1 --> Inside of the front panel.
#2 --> Box thing attached to panel?
#3 --> Wiring guide that came with Freezer Manual.
#4 --> Tag to Freezer Motor
#5 --> another view of #2
#6 --> STC Controller