Greetings from Watertown, MA

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TheKeggingPart

Reaction score
Hello everyone, Randy Baril here. I'm a long-time lurker that has been recommending other people to this forum for years. I've been homebrewing for over 10 years now. I've worked in professional breweries and am currently in the homebrew retail scene over in Cambridge, MA. If you've been to a NERAX (New England Real Ale eXhibition, www.nerax.org) in the past 3 years, you've had some of my cellaring handiwork. I'm the Head Cellarman of CASC (Cask-conditioned Ale Support Campaign), the organization that brings you NERAX. I'm also an inventor, but we'll get to that in a bit.

My current setup is for dual extract and all-grain brewing. For the majority of my brews, I do a concentrated boil of extract and specialty grains. Keeps the cooling simple and the time invested minimal. I like to do all-grain for my English-style session ales. It takes a bit of teasing to get the best malt flavors into a 3.5% bitter or mild. These session ales are where my passion lies. NERAX comes but twice a year in these parts. If you want to have a real session ale, best make it yourself!

From my station at the LHBS, I've heard many requests for a simple way to use commercial kegs in a homebrew setup. There are a few strategies to do so, but no really good solutions. That is, there *were* no really good solutions. I've come up with a little do-dad that solves this problem. You could call it an ball-lock post adapter for commercial keg couplers. Or perhaps a commercial keg coupler to ball-lock post adapter. I just call it The Kegging Part. Links and more information can be found in the signature below or over in the Vendor section.

Cheers!