Frozen grapes or wine kit or???

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chavi

Reaction score
I'm new to the whole wine making deal and am more or less inquiring. I want to have a finished wine by Christmas 2011, so I feel like time is of the essence. My LHBS only includes wine kits from cellar craft and wine expert. I have been looking online on other brewing websites such as midwest supplies and see that they will ship frozen grapes from california. The cost of the kit and the frozen grapes are similar but I dont know which will taste better considering I have no experience in wine making. Can anyone offer me any suggestions to choosing a kit from my LHBS or ordering frozen grapes? I only have beer making equipment so I know I will need to buy some extra supplies for wine such as a 7 gallon bucket. I know I wont have a press for the frozen grapes but I dont mind pressing them by hand using a brew bag. Also, is it already to late to expect to have wine by Christmas to gift out/ drink? Again any suggestions would be great.

If you have no experience, I wouldn't start with grapes.
Try a frozen concentrate wine... like Welch's white grape/peach or white grape/raspberry... both are good and fairly early drinkers.

You should spend a little time reading up on the process as well, so you know what to expect from your wine.

Personally, I didn't give any of my first batch away... not enough experience to know what it should taste like at what stage... it's a learning process.

Knit some scarves for this Christmas... make the wine for next year, when you have some experience under your belt.

Jack Keller's web site has a lot of useful information, as well as this site. You'll want to read about what to do at what stage and the equipment you'll need.

Good Luck!