Flying with bottled beer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Derp

Reaction score
Howdy. I'm new to the hobby/obsession and I've learned a lot here. Cheers.

My first batch (ESB, extract kit from MoreBeer) has been in the primary for 8 days now. I'm flying to California in 3 weeks for my daughter's wedding and some friends have been following my brewing saga and they've asked me to bring a few bottles to sample. I don't plant to bottle it until right before I leave and I'm worried about packing a bunch of bottle-conditioning beers in my checked baggage. I'm sure I can pack them to avoid making a mess if they break, but the combination of carbonating beer that's under pressure and below-normal (I assume) air pressure in the plane's hold have me a little worried. Has anyone done this before? I've flown with commercially bottled beers before, but never a science experiment like the one I'm conducting in my bathtub at the moment. I have nightmarish visions of exploding bottles, panicked TSA inspectors and 5 years in Gitmo running through my mind.

Brewed my second batch (American IPA kit from MoreBeer) with Safale-S04 last night and it's going crazy in my fermentation chiller (bathtub) at the moment. It's in a 6-gallon Better Bottle and I had to fashion an emergency blow-off tube after hearing strange sounds coming from the bathroom a few hours ago. The ESB was active, but this guy is going crazy.