First BIAB: beer out of the primary tastes bitter/sour/astringent

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GlowingApple

Reaction score
I've been doing extracts for several years now and decided to finally get into all-grain brewing. I brewed an oatmeal stout this past weekend and took a sample out of the primary today. It has an off flavor, that lasts strongly in the aftertaste. I think it might be astringency, but I'm not quite sure.

Reading up on astringency, there are a lot of threads saying that fine particulate getting through into the kettle (i.e. an insufficient vorlauf) can cause this, but I'm not sure if this is an issue with BIAB?

I'm also seeing a lot about too high of a mash pH. The water here is moderately hard, but I don't have any precise way to measure my mash pH (looking into getting a pH meter but I don't think I can afford one at the moment). I have pH paper that ranges from 0-13. My mash pH came out to be somewhere around 6, so I added 2 mL of lactic acid, which still left it at about 6, but probably between 5 and 6 based on the color. I didn't want to add more lactic acid and impart a lactic acid flavor.

In the future, what should I do differently? Do I need to add more lactic acid? should I use acidulated malt? Are there other options?

If the flavor is from extracted tannins, will aging help?

I don't have much help to offer, only to say that the one Oatmeal stout I made (also BIAB) came out a little astringent, with not a lot of the mouthfeel you want from the oatmeal, and more roasty than I expected.

It did get better, but never really "good"... I drank it anyway

Walk us through the recipe / process to give us a better idea.

Recipe - grain bill, hops, yeast strain, etc