Finally got a tower

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

petemoss

Reaction score
So, I've been using this fridge for a while as a kegerator, just using picnic taps inside and opening the door for a pour. I finally decided to add a tower. I purchased the three tap tower with flow control Intertaps from Williams Brewing. Everything went very well. It had everything I needed minus directions. I was a journeyman plumber in a previous life so it wasn't too bad but I could see where some directions would be helpful.

I still have to connect the tubing to the kegs and it looks like I will need to get one of those blowers with a tube to cool the tower.

It looks like you are a few days ahead of me. My two tap tower from Williams should arrive today. Are there any issues connecting the tower to the top of the fridge. My fridge (and it looks like yours does too) has a thin metal layer, a bunch of insulation, and another thin metal layer. Do I need screws long enough to go through the whole thing? My worry is that either the whole thing winds up wobbly, or I over-tighten and the flimsy metal layers warp. Am I overthinking this? I was not a plumber in any former life.

Yeah, on mine there is a layer of stainless (maybe 1/8 inch thick), about 2 1/2 inches of foam, and then mine has a plastic shell on the inside. I got a 3" hole saw and drilled it out. I just took my time and sprayed it with some water from time to time to cool it. I did not use the bolts that came with the tower. I basically just found some #10 (I think) stainless metal screws. I drilled some pilot holes and just screwed them into the top layer of stainless outer shell. It seems pretty secure, though time will tell.