Figuring out hop additions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tapout

Reaction score
For those of you who have created your own recipes, how do you determine when to add your hops? I know that bittering hops go in for the entire boil, for the most part (the longer they are in, the more bitterness they impart). But for aroma and flavor hops, how do you come up with 'put this one in at 15 minutes, this one at 5, this one at flame out, etc'?

Thanks

I am not an expert by any means, so take what I say with a grain of salt.

It is all a matter of preference and there really isn't a science to it, you just kinda go with what you feel. It sounds like you have the basic idea that the longer the hops are in the boil, the more bitterness (IBU's) and less flavor/aroma they give off. So, with that knowledge, make your additions accordingly. One thing to consider, if you're trying to stay within style guidelines is IBU's. If you are targeting an IBU amount, you might want to set your hop schedule around it and add late additions (5 mins - flameout) for aroma/flavor as they will add little to no IBU but leave more aroma.

Check out John Palmer's section on Hop Utilization in his free online book "How To Brew". It might shed some light on some of the questions you have.

Actually, I'll disagree with @Biscuits and tell you that it's 100% science as all the questions have been answered regarding this topic with immense data.

In a nutshell, consider the alpha acids of the hop. The early editions will bitter the wort and boil off the aroma, and the later editions will not bitter the wort, but keep the aroma from the hops in the wort. The current trend to is to add your bitter hops at the start of your boil and not add any aroma hops until the last 15 min ~ Flame out :)