False Bottom

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

outnumbered

Reaction score
Ok so I am new to brewing and I bought an all grain kit off craigslist and did my first brew last night. It came with a plastic false bottom for the igloo cooler that worked great. But the SS false bottom for the brew kettle well that is a different story. Once I chilled the wort I opened the ball valve to the kettle and nothing. So after sanitizing a wrench I got the false bottom off and opened the ball valve and no problems. The only thing in the boil were pellet hops. Did I do something wrong? Do the false bottoms not work very well. any help would be great. thanks

What was your recipe?

Did you use the correct water/grains ratio?

How did you sparge? And did you let it settle after vorlaufing?

I've never had a problem with my false bottom, but I used to have problems with a homemade manifold when I first started brewing all-grain. I learned to use that in time and it even worked fine.

I'm guessing you had your first stuck mash. These can be caused by a number of different situations...hence my questions above.

the sparge went great the false bottom in the mash tun worked great but i put one in the boil kettle. The only thing that I put in the boil kettle were the pellet hops. I am thinking that the pellet hops are to fine and make it through the false bottom and then clogging it.

Ohh.

I don't use a false bottom in my kettle since I don't find it necessary. I've got a pickup tube that works great. I also have my HERMS rig setup so that it whirlpools the beer while it's cooling, so I usually end up with a nice trub cone in the middle that makes my beer super clean coming out.