Extract Hefeweizen

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cdunn1221

Reaction score
I want to make a hefeweizen and I'm still pretty new to brewing. I have made 4 extract beers so far using kits, and this time I would like to try my hand without a kit and purchasing individual ingredients myself. I have put together a simple recipe: Let me know how it looks and if I should make any changes. I am debating adding fruit/juice or extract to flavor this beer, but haven't decided.

6 lbs wheat DME. (3 lbs added with 5 minutes remaining in boil)
60minutes 1 oz Hallertauer Hersbrucker
5 minutes .25oz Hallertauer Hersbrucker
White labs Bavarian Weizen Yeast WLP351.

I will add DME to 3 gallons water and top off to make 5 gallons wort in fermenter.

Please tell me if this will work or any changes to make this better. Also I'm looking for another good summer type beer to make. I have a batch of NB Cream Ale bottled already.

Thanks much :D

I make a Bavarian Hefeweizen that's similar to this. I assumed alpha acid of 3.8% and got 12 IBU's and BU:GU ratio of 0.24 for your recipe. That looks about right. You can use a dry yeast to simplify things - I like the results when I use Danstar Munich Wheat yeast.

Cool thanks. What temp and for how long should I ferment? I'm assuming no need to secondary unless I add fruit?

Cool thanks. What temp and for how long should I ferment? I'm assuming no need to secondary unless I add fruit?