Every beer i brew has a similar "Grainy" taste

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Schlomo

Reaction score
I've been brewing for a good amount of time (on and off for 5 years), but haven't been able to pinpoint the cause of this very distinct grainy off flavor in almost every one of my beers. Over those years my setup has changed with almost every brew, but i've got it down to a point where I want it and thats where its staying.. Its not very prevalent in Stouts or other similar beers, but my IPA's all have a very distinct grainy aftertaste. Its hard to describe, but basically when i take a drink i get a good flavor, then after maybe 2-3 seconds i start to get this grainy flavor and at about the 5-8 second mark its a very strong grainy flavor.

I did notice that I was getting some stuck mash recirculations through my HERMS setup, and fixed that by adjusting my mill crush (it was way over crushing). The other thing I read is boil vigor. I get about a 1Gallon/Hr boil off rate for 5 gal batches, and about .7G/Hr for a 10Gal batch with my 2000w and 1500w 120v setup.

I just brewed 2 beers with a less aggressive crush last weekend and i'll wait and see what happens i guess, but for now im stuck drinking sub-par homebrew...

What's your grain bill on the IPAs?

Last IPA was a while ago, so i dont remember. But the last beer I brewed that had a distinct grain flavor was -

18lb 2 row
4.5 lbs Vienna
2 lbs Crystal 10

2oz Cascade at 60
1oz Cascade at 30
1oz cascade at 15
0.5oz cascade at flameout

2pkgs of Nottingham

Looking at it now i see it is alot of base malt. Should i be doing more specialty malts?

What is your water? Are you controlling for pH? That IPA recipe has high pH written all over it if you're not adding salts and acid to the mash & sparge.