Dry Hopping with a pellicle?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tgmartin000

Reaction score
Howdy folks, I searched the forum on this one but didn't quite find what I was looking for.

I've got a clone of Noble King from Jester King that's about ready to bottle. It's been sitting in primary for about 2.5 months, and has developed a pretty decent little pellicle. My first, in fact - it's my first time at a sour.

So the recipe calls for dry hopping this beer. Any special procedure to dry hopping with a pellicle? Carry on as normal? Am I over thinking it?

My plan was to bag the leaf hops and put right into the carboy. Dry hop for a week (I think it's about 2 oz of hops), then bottle. Sound OK?

Any input is appreciated.

Thanks!

Is 2.5 months enough? Most sours take 12-18 months before they begin to be ready. It really depends on the recipe and the method, though.

I wouldn't worry too much about the pellicle, though. A pellicle is bacteria trying to protect itself, but it isn't a necessary or important thing for a sour.

Sent from my iPhone using Home Brew

Is 2.5 months enough? Most sours take 12-18 months before they begin to be ready. It really depends on the recipe and the method, though.

I wouldn't worry too much about the pellicle, though. A pellicle is bacteria trying to protect itself, but it isn't a necessary or important thing for a sour.

I have a different opinion on that. I've had a couple of sours that never developed pellicles that suffered from too much oxygen exposure. One of them had a lot of ethyl acetate and a fair bit of acetic acid, and the other straight up darkened and tasted like cardboard for a long time. A third that suffered from the same "dry airlock syndrome" as the other two had a pellicle and turned out wonderful.