Dank IPA recipe help - partial mash

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wowbeeryum

Reaction score
For my next beer I'm looking to make an IPA with more of a "dank" hop character, versus totally bright and fruity. I was thinking of using a basic grain bill to really let the hops shine through. However, I have no experience putting a recipe together on my own which is where you all come in.

In terms of partial mashing, I can only use 3 lbs of grain in order to just do a dunk sparge at the end of the mash (due to the pots I have available to me). I guess I could use more grain, if needed, and just do a pour over sparge.

I think I understand some of the more dank hops would be columbus, chinook, simcoe, nugget, millenium, others?

I'd be looking for a 5 to 5.5 gallon batch and can only do a partial boil of around 3 gallons.

Any thoughts recipe gurus?

This is my recipe. Do yourself a favor and employ a full volume boil for a slightly smaller batch as represented here: http://hopville.com/recipe/958272/imperial-ipa-recipes/9-lives-double-ipa

FYI - The honey should not be boiled at 5 minutes, like page 2 of the recipe says... but that's hopville for you!
Stir in the appropriate amount of gypsum (if using) to your cold water volumes (before boiling/heating).

This is my recipe. Do yourself a favor and employ a full volume boil for a slightly smaller batch as represented here: http://hopville.com/recipe/958272/imperial-ipa-recipes/9-lives-double-ipa

FYI - The honey should not be boiled at 5 minutes, like page 2 of the recipe says... but that's hopville for you!
Stir in the appropriate amount of gypsum (if using) to your cold water volumes (before boiling/heating).