Controlling your Temperature

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nikon90s

Reaction score
As a brewer noob I wanted to know how important it is to control the temp during the fermentation process and how accurate that control needs to be? I just bottled my first run, a Shilling Scottish Ale, that I keep in my basement 50 to 70 degrees. Don't know how it turned out yet another week or so. I now have a American Cream Ale for my next attempt and reading the directions I need to keep it in a 4+/- at two different temperature during the fermentation process. What is the best way to do this other then keeping my heater on in the house all day(not something I plan on doing.) How bad is it to have the fermentation take place with a large temperature fluctuation.

Beers come out fine without tightly controlled temperatures, but to optimize fermentation, flavor, and "to style" beers, temperature control has to be within a degree or two. Yeast have been documented to have changes in esters, fusel alcohols, and all kinds of other flavor changing compounds with as little as a degree of temp change. Will this turn your good beer bad? Probably not. For heat, put the fermenter in a keg bucket of water with an aquarium heater. For cold, you need a freezer with a temp. controller ideally, but there are a variety of techniques, from ice in the keg bucket, to wet towels and a fan, search the threads here.

Yeast don't like temperature changes, they don't like unaerated wort, they don't like carbonation pressure. They are alive, and very important to beer. Brewers make wort, yeast make beer.