cider foam

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

damlamb

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
This is my first time making cider. I used a centrifugal juicer I had to juice the apples. I was left with a foamy layer about 3 inches thick on top. Should I suck this layer off before pitching my yeast today or is it ok to leave it. I think it might spoil the cider due to the fact that its full of tiny air bubbles.

I leave it in personally, it'll either be re-absorbed into the juice or get stuck to the sides of the fermenter.

Thanks for your suggestion. If it doesn't settle out can I just rack the juice from under the foam after fermentation? After almost 24 hours it doesn't seem any of it has dissipated hopefully it will dissipate with the addition of the yeast

I leave it in too. No worries. Mine is still in there from Saturday's pressing. Fermentation will break it apart.

Thanks to all who replied. Sets my mind at ease. I think I will build a press for my next batch to avoid having so much foam and probably will extract more juice than my juicer did.

Here's a picture so you can see what I'm talking about. Added the yeast a few hours before I took this photo.

ForumRunner_20121114_204730.png

Waaaaay too much headspace!!! IMO.

no, that's fine for fermenting, just not for afterwards.