Chocolate Milk Stout stuck at 1.021- Can lactose cause that?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

formula2fast

Reaction score
I have a chocolate milk stout that I brewed over 3 weeks ago. It has a pound of lactose in it. This is my first time using lactose. I used a yeast starter and it started fermenting about 4 hours after pitching and was done bubbling by day 3. I let it sit for an additional 3 weeks in the primary and it is still at 1.021. My OG was 1.057. I know that for some beers, up to 1.024 is acceptable. I am not scared because it tastes amazing, but I just want to be sure if I prime it, I am not going to have bottle bombs.

Can lactose (being unfermentable) keep my FG higher than usual? I am going to let it sit another week or two and see what happens, but I am thinking that she is done.

Depending on your recipe you could be at final gravity. Lactose will raise your final gravity. Same reading on your hydrometer for three days you should be good to go.

I've got the exact same thing on my chocolate milk stout. I did some research and we are right where we should be.

For the fun of saying what everyone else is saying:

Yes Lactose will cause a higher than normal FG. I know my milk stout normally finishes around there and It is one of my absolute favorites.

mine is around 1.022 and seems to be finished. after looking around it seems to be pretty normal

Hearing this makes me feel better about it then. I only questioned it because in my BeerTools it said that I should be at 1.014 for FG based on my recipe, but my OG came out 3 points higher than BTP said too.

Thanks guys...Can't wait to try the finished product.