Campden tablets and Potassium sorbate

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Afonso Correia

Reaction score
Hey there
Im Im new at this and planning to make a batch of mead
I read about it and some places said i i needed to add Potassium sorbate to halt the fermentation process and other places i read i also had to add crushed campden tablets before fermentation
Do i need to do both?
Crushed campden tablets before yeast and potassium sorbate before bottling
Also what tips can yall give me

Depends on what you are fermenting. Store bought juices don't have to have campden at the start. Honey is a natural antibiotic. The campden at start is to stop bacteria and wild yeast. At bottling you will want to use both.
As for tips read. A lot. There are many threads here with useful info. And don't be afraid to ask, all of us started the same as you, not knowing what to do.

Depends on what you are fermenting. Store bought juices don't have to have campden at the start. Honey is a natural antibiotic. The campden at start is to stop bacteria and wild yeast. At bottling you will want to use both.
As for tips read. A lot. There are many threads here with useful info. And don't be afraid to ask, all of us started the same as you, not knowing what to do.
Planning on using only water honey and yeast so would i need them tablets?

Honey has a low enough count of wild microbes that you don't need to add sulfite before fermentation, but it does reduce risk.

You only need sorbate if you want sweet mead.

Sulfite after fermentation is always recommended to avoid oxidation and wild microbe activity.

Honey has a low enough count of wild microbes that you don't need to add sulfite before fermentation, but it does reduce risk.

You only need sorbate if you want sweet mead.