burner not working properly

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RandalG

Reaction score
I have a Banjo KAB4 that I have been using for a few years now. The last few times I used it when I fire it up I get a good flame but after awhile it gets weak.I get frost on the bottom part of the propane tank depending on how much gas is left but not sure if that means anything. At first I thought that might have something to do with the gas being restricted after awhile. Or do I need a new regulator? Has anyone else had a problem like this?

I have a Banjo KAB4 that I have been using for a few years now. The last few times I used it when I fire it up I get a good flame but after awhile it gets weak.I get frost on the bottom part of the propane tank depending on how much gas is left but not sure if that means anything. At first I thought that might have something to do with the gas being restricted after awhile. Or do I need a new regulator? Has anyone else had a problem like this?

It's not the burner, it's the ambient temperature of the tank and the outside air, you are using the tank in cold conditions and it is affecting the way the gas flows. I have found the solution is to place your tank in a tub of warm water to raise the temp of the gas itself and keep it more stable.

The gas itself gets cold and the cold air makes it colder so the flow is reduced and nothing functions properly or efficiently. If you shake the tank you will see things improve but it's temporary and a PITA.

For me, I bring the tank indoors overnight when it is really cold outside. I make sure the valve is all the way off, and since I don't have any appliances with a pilot light, I don't worry about it.