Bru'n Water & BIAB

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

OzzyBrew

Reaction score
I have poor well water (think rotten eggs) so I have been using water from a neighbor to brew for the last 2 years. I have decided to try a few batches solely using RO water with additions. With so many different water calculators out there I decided to start with Bru'n water, as it seems a ton of people use it.

This is the recipe I intend to use, which is something I found on the web:
2-Row - 11.78 lbs
C-40 - .64 lbs
Carapils - .38 lbs
In all, there will be 11.11 ounces of hops between boil, hopstand and dry-hop.

The process I have been using for BIAB is to add extra 2-row instead of mini-sparging or squeezing. So I'll truly be using roughly 12.75 lbs of 2-row.

I entered everything into Bru'n water, skipping tabs 1 & 2. On tab 3 I selected RO water for my dilution water, and increased the percentage to 100. I selected the Pale Ale profile under the desired water profile. I then started adding various amounts of minerals to get the finished water profile to closely match the desired profile. I set the mash water amount to 9 gallons, as I believe there will be a ton of hop/trub sludge to leave behind. I have always tried to leave that stuff behind, but maybe I shouldn't be?

Anyway, the mineral additions I used are: (total amount treating all 9 gallons)
Gypsum - 16.2 g
Epsom - 6.3 g
Baking Soda - 2.3 g
Calcium Chl - 3.6 g

Using these amounts gets the numbers in the ballpark with the pale ale profile, with the exception of sulfate which is at 338 vs the 300 in the original profile.