Brewing coopers lager first timer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nivaguk

Reaction score
Hi All,

I am new to all this home brewing and i will be starting my first batch tomorrow.

I will be using a Coopers lager kit that came with my micro kit.

I have read a few post but as i am a little bit nervous about the first one i want to get it right even though perfection come with experience.

So i wll be using the cooper lager extract and yeast even though it isn't a true lager yeast.

Do i use the brew enhancer and add DME or substitute the enhancer with DME?

If i substitute can i add some of the brew enhance aswell to up the content.

i believe i will need to add hops if using DME.

I've never used the Cooper's enhancer, but I have used a Munton's and I'm usually happy with the results. That said, the DME would be a significant improvement.

My experience with hop additions is limited an and I've never made the Lager kit, but I made a pretty tasty beer with the IPA kit and some fresh hops and LME. The method I used was boil 4L of water, add about 400mL of light LME, a bittering hop addition for 60 mins and a flavour/aroma hop addition for 20 mins. I think it was half an ounce of each(?). Probably a Saaz or Helleratau would be a nice hop to use in a lager. I took the pot off the heat at the end of the hour, added the rest of the unhopped LME, added the Cooper's kit LME, stirred well, dumped it in the bucket and topped it up to 20L, and stirred it all together really well, lots of frothiness on the top. I always try to pitch the yeast into about 64-65* wort.