Bottle sanitation question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Biere_Titan

Reaction score
I’m still fairly new at this. For my first three batches I’m convinced I went overboard in cleaning and sanitizing my bottles. Going forward here’s what I’m thinking of doing:

After drinking a beer, I wash the bottle (without soap) and then turn it upside down to drain and dry. Early on bottling day, I run all the empties in the dishwasher (again without soap) with extra heat to kill any germs. Then, before I actually begin bottling, I spray Starsan into each bottle, turn them a couple of times to coat the insides and then place them back in the dishwasher rack upside down.

Is this good practice or do I need to do more? Thanks.

That is exactly what I do. I usually run a bottle brush through them before I put them in the dish washer, just to make sure there isn't any residue left in the bottle.

So far everything has been good, granted I'm only on my 3rd batch.

Troy

After a good rinse after being emptied of brew I would set them aside until needed. Then submerge in StarSan bucket to fill, let rest a moment (or three) then drain and either cover and chill (for filling from keg/tap) or put on bottle tree. IMO a dishwasher rack is not sanitary unless you spray it down with StarSan first. I spray the bottle tree with StarSan making sure that the spots that bottles are being placed onto is wet with StarSan first.

It amazes me at how many people trust dishwashers to sanitize their bottles. I don't have one (currently) and I wouldn't trust one that far even if I did.