Boiling in small pots

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CaptainArgo

Reaction score
Being a beginner, I'm still collecting equipment. One of those things I have yet to collect is a proper large pot for boiling.

For my first batch I borrowed a large stock pot from a friend, but I don't necessarily have easy access to it at all times. One thing I wondered is, how difficult is it to brew in smaller pots? I have a pair of standard 2-gallon pots in the kitchen -- should I simply boil 1.5 gallons of wort in each of these and then add some top-up water to get to a full batch size? What would be the best way to utilize smaller boiling vessels?

Also, if anyone knows the best way to set BeerSmith up for such a thing, some pointers would be helpful :)

With 2 pots you'll likely get more evaporation, but since your going to add top off water anyway, I don't suspect it will make any difference. So ya, I'd say go for it. I used 2 pots before somewhere back in my extract days because I was having some head retention problems and didn't have a large enough pot.

Is there anything I need to watch out for vis-a-vis hop utilization or caramelization of malt?

Since I'm probably going to have to add top-up water afterwards to keep the boil volume down and guard against boil-overs, I'm imagining that my boil gravity is going to be pretty high -- or at least higher than it would otherwise be. I'd like to avoid adding caramel flavors if at all possible, at least when they are not intended. How long can I boil a high gravity wort before this starts to become noticable?