biab Q.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DIXIEBOY1

Reaction score
I have zero biab experience but also have zero room in my buikding and to brew and live on the thirdfloor where it isnt feasible to hau stuff up and.down.stsirs all.day. what are your ideas about biab? Do i sparge lime normal and then.hand press the water out.of.the grain or what itthe best biab technique?

I usually just squeeze the bag unless I'm short on volume then I will do a small sparge to get my volume up, usually not more that a gallon maybe two. BIAB is meant to be a no sparge technique all your water is supposed to go into the mash. I have 2 five gallon buckets one with holes drilled in the bottom. I usually pull the bag let it drain over the kettle for a bit then move it to the two stacked bucket system simmilar to a zapap to drain the rest of the way while I bring the rest of the wort up to a boil, then I will squeeze the bag a bit and if need be sparge the grain in the bag to get my volume.

I do a dunk sparge, then squeeze the bag in a colander by pressing on it with a plate. There are many methods. Check the BIAB sub-forum. And if space is limited, consider small batches.

Sparging requires another vessel, add an extra pound of base malt and live with lower efficiency on huge beers. That said I'm not that wasteful, I do sparge the bag, but for starter wort only, after the main brew is finished.

Honestly, easiest BIAB technique is a mashing in the full boil volume + absorbtion losses amount of water, hoist out the bag at mash out, drain it, then squeeze the hell out of it, then proceed like any other brewday with your boil, cool, transfer to fermenter, etc. Heat resistant gloves are useful in the squeeze.

Steps for BIAB

1. Prepare equipment

2. Heat water

3. Mash-in