BIAB All Grain Partial Boil? Anyone do this?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Davrosh

Reaction score
Does anyone on these forums do or have experience with BIAB all grain partial boils?

I have been doing BIAB Partial mashes for a few months now, and last night I came to the realisation that I could probably ditch the tin of extract that I have been including in each brew, and just up the grain bill.

I only have a 20L(ish) brew pot so I have been doing partial boil partial mashes anyway, using the BrewPal iPhone app to great success (not sure how accurate my calculations are but the beer is tasting good and pretty much what I'm aiming for each time). Typically my grain bill is around 2-3kg (plus a 1.5kg tin of Brewpacks Pale Malt Extract). I use however much strike water the app tells me to mash with. plus as much as I can to dunk sparge the bag afterwards (I have a 7.5L pot which I use for the sparge water, poured into my fermenter to dunk the grain bag in - not ideal but it seems to do the trick). I boil whatever amount of wort I end up with, plus the extract, then top up with water to 23L in the fermenter.

My efficiency seems to be surprisingly high (consistently high 80%s), and I have got to a stage where the BrewPal app is getting the OG pretty much bang on, after several settings tweaks.

So... bearing my method and equipment in mind, am I right in thinking there would be little difference to my technique if I simply upped the grain bill, upped the strike water, and cut the extract out? I suppose the main issue would be that the calculations I were previously using would be somewhat irrelevant?