Batch sparge volume and boil off

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

2005STi

Reaction score
I'm new to AG and still getting used to my system (10 gal boilermaker and 10 gal Rubbermaid MT, 5 gal batches). I use BeerSmith for my batch sparge volumes and it always tells me to mash in X gal, wait an hour, then add Y volume for say a total of 3 gallons for first runnings. Then I sparge and add an additional 3 gal for my desired pre boil volume of 6 gallons.

I have been coming up short on my pre boil OG. Wouldn't adding X and Y and mashing that in at once give me better efficiency than adding it after the mash for equal sparge volumes? The end result should be equal runnings right? Why does BeerSmith have me do it this way?

Also can anyone give me a typical boil off for a 10 gal boilermaker? ( for them at their typical boil strength with summer temps? )

Adding X and Y and mashing in that is called no-sparge mashing and is a common mothod among BIAB. (They usually dunk and squeeze and dunk and squeeze though). Try reading some the BIAB stickies.

The efficiency is supposedly not as good as sparge. I haven't the slightest idea why not. Like everything else in brewing this is hot debated nor is it universally accepted. Purely Anecdotal: I got 66%-74% with no-sparge/dunk sparge BIAB adding X and Y from the start. Since then I've seperated to very large mashing X and very little sparging Y and doing a lot of dunk squeeze in X. Tranfering the grains and sparging with Y. Lot's of dunk squeezing in Y. Re-sparge in Y more dunk squeeze. Combine the two. Squeeze Sqeeze the crap out of it. And then I got 72% - 80% efficiency.

So I don't know. Good luck.