Bad efficiency with EXTRACT batch? Wtf?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Monstar

Reaction score
I have been brewing for 6 months now, and have made a LOT of great beer. I started all grain and have never done extract until today. I figured what the hell, everyone should brew an extract batch at least once in their lives right?

So the brew went fun, I was enjoying the simplicity of it... and when I took my OG reading it was 1.030, more than 25 points under what I expected! Here is the recipe, it was a 3 gallon batch.

4 lbs 3.2 oz Pale Liquid Extract (8.0 SRM) Extract 86.60 %
8.0 oz Caramel/Crystal Malt - 30L (30.0 SRM) Grain 10.31 %
2.4 oz Special B Malt (180.0 SRM) Grain 3.09 %
0.31 oz Fuggles [6.00 %] (60 min) Hops 9.6 IBU
0.31 oz Goldings, East Kent [5.70 %] (30 min) Hops 7.8 IBU
0.31 oz Fuggles [6.00 %] (20 min) Hops 6.4 IBU
0.31 oz Goldings, East Kent [5.70 %] (5 min) Hops 2.0 IBU

Est Original Gravity: 1.057 SG
Measured Original Gravity: 1.030 SG

I started with 3 gallons of water, did a 90 minute boil, finished with around 1.5 gallons of wort. Racked it to the fermenter, filled it up to 3 gallons.

What happened? Any ideas?

The standard response is you didn't mix the wort well enough before measuring. There's very little at stake when brewing extract with respect to gravity. The specialty grains contribute some, but aren't going to cost you 25 points no matter how poorly you steeped.

The standard response is you didn't mix the wort well enough before measuring. There's very little at stake when brewing extract with respect to gravity. The specialty grains contribute some, but aren't going to cost you 25 points no matter how poorly you steeped.