Automated Beer Dispensing (Fitting advise needed)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CliffRT

Reaction score
Hi guys, I'm fairly new to it all. I mean I love beer, but I'm not very experienced or technical with things like these.

I'm working on a project that would automate beer dispensing once I place my cup on these buttons.
So I've got a flow sensor to detect the amount of flow, some 3/8" beer lines, attached to a 12V DC solenoid valve.

Here's the problem. I'm not at all experienced with piping. Just a lad with some experiences with Arduino.
Before I start spending hundreds on solenoid valves and flow sensors that don't fit in with the beer lines, I would like to ask the advise of experts around here about that.
Solenoid valves and flow sensors are threaded, these 3/8" beer lines aren't.
I've been looking at hose fittings with nipples for 3/8" but they're usually with a smaller diameter thread like 1/4" or 3/18".

Maybe I've been searching in the wrong places, or maybe my idea isn't optimal and is a detour from what could be a much simpler solution.

I would love to hear some advise from you guys about this.

Regards,
Cliff

You want to keep the tubing inside diameter at 3/16" or smaller, otherwise you'll have endless problems with pours or need a lot of tubing to tame them (a lot: a 1/4" ID line would require ~47 feet of tubing!) Even if you use conventional solid PVC 3/16" ID beer line like the vast majority of home dispensing systems you'd want to go with 10-12 feet total tubing length.

But there are even better options - like 4mm ID barrier tubing - that will cut the necessary beer line length down to ~5-6' total.