Anyone use Urea?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sbe2

Reaction score
Not the liquid that goes in your diesel truck.

The 46-0-0 fertilizer. My plan is to apply it early with some nice compost then use 15-15-15 before burr formation.

Sbe2....where are you in NY?? I'm 30 minutes from Rochester....we have a hops field that is approx 2.25 acres. We use a mix that isn't exactly urea, but isn't too far off...it's got a lot of liquid in it. We mix ours up into leaf and straw matter and let it compost...so I think that you should be okay with using it. I would consider putting it on way early so it can mellow a little bit, but we also put a fertilizer down with a 30+/0/0 content.

I would research this heavily. I have a degree in horticulture but I've not grown hops before/yet. I do have some freshly dug various rhizomes that a HBT member graciously traded to me for some hand rolled cigars. I'm going to plant them when we get settled in the new house.
Nitrogen (Urea) in fertilizer is applied normally for leaf production as in greening of grass.
I grow my own tobacco and one would assume since the leaf is used it would require heavy amounts of N . Not so. Heavy to even moderate amounts of N tend to hinder the leafs combustion...almost makes it fireproof.
As I said ,I would research the hops fertilizer needs before picking a formulation heavier on one of the elements. I'm sure there is some published university study of hops fertility needs.
Here you go-
http://www.ipm.msu.edu/uploads/files/IPMA/fertilizer_and_nutrient_requirements_for_hops.pdf