Ambient vs. Internal temperatures question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pc_trott

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a rank beginner, starting with a Block Party Amber Ale from Northern Brewers. I have a question that the brewing books I've read (Palmer's "How to Brew," and J. and D. Fisher's "Brewing Made Easy") don't really address, and I've searched the site here without finding what I'm looking for. I hope I'm able to ask the question intelligently. (There's a first time for everything!)

The Block Party Amber kit includes a packet of Munton's Ale Yeast, noting that it has an optimum temp. of 57-77 degrees F. My basement, where I plan to do the fermentation, has an ambient temperature right around 60 degrees F at this time of year. Is the "optimum temperature" the ambient temperature? Or is it the internal temperature of the wort? The instructions say to add the yeast to the fermenter when the wort is 78 degrees F or lower. Will the yeast start to work before the temperature drops to 60?

The only finished room in my basement is an unheated bathroom, but I have a small radiator that I can place in there and set to a given temperature. Would it be a good idea to heat the bathroom up a few degrees, say 65, and put the primary in there? Having read all the posts saying the fermenting temp is crucial to the end product, I'm hoping to avoid making a batch of drain cleaner.

Thanks for any replies!
Peter

If your temp in your basement is a steady 60 then it should be fine . 60 and 65 are in that desired temp for that yeast . I pitch at the cooler side of preferred temp when not using my temp control. So if I pitch at 65 the temp will rise once fermentation starts.