Am I pitching enough Yeast?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HopHeadHarry

Reaction score
Im a NOOB on my 6th batch.So after much reading here (Thanks to all this is a great community with much info) I built a stir plate and began making starters as it seems underpitching is a common problem.

Currently I smack my pack the morning before brewing, return about 5 in the evening after work and make my starter based on "How to make a starter" thread here I am using 650ml (3 cups) water and 1/2 cup extra light DME. Set it on the stir plate overnight and pitch about 18 - 20 hrs later.

Most of my beers have been in the 1.058-1.075 range.

So not knowing the math of how much I'm increasing my yeast count and reading where people are making much larger starters ( 1 liter or more) my question is: With this proceedure am I pitching adequate amounts? Should I make adjustments in total volume? Amount of DME? Time spent on the stirplate?

Thanks in advance for any info.

Rule of thumb is to pitch 750,000 to 1,000,000 cells per milliliter of wort per degree Plato. For our purposes degree Plato is Specific Gravity divided by four. Note that you drop the "1.x" from your Specific Gravity first, so 1.058 would be 58. There are 3,785 milliliters in a gallon.

Both a Wyeast Smack Pack (the bigger one) and White Labs vial have approx. 1 billion cells in them. The amount of viable cells will depend on how old the package is. Pitching 100 billion viable cells into 1 liter of water + 100 grams DME produces a total of 225 billion cells. Upping the water and DME to 2.8 liters + 280 grams produces a total of 362 billion cells.

http://www.yeastcalc.com is another good site for calculating starter sizes.

Sorry, I'm even more of a noob. Currently fermenting batch 2 and 3.