All-nugget pilsner recipe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mrbippers

Reaction score
This will be my second homebrew batch. I have all-nugget IPA going on a week in the primary right now and already can't wait to get the second started. I've been growing my own hops for a couple years and get crazy yields off of my nugget plants (3 second year plants = 7 lbs of dried hops), hence the all-nugget recipe interest. I'm going to call them 11% AA and shoot for the upper end of the IBU's on the style. Anyway I'm putting together a pilsner recipe loosely based on one I found on the internet and am looking for some feedback.

9# Briess Pilsner LME
1oz Nugget 60 min
1oz Nugget 15 min
1oz Nugget 5 min
1 whirlifloc tablet 10 min
Nottingham Yeast

I'm using Beer Smith and as of right now everything looks okay except for the color (est SRM = 3.6). I'm thinking I could steep in some grains before the boil, but don't know enough to figure out what will give me a dark enough color while still fitting the flavor profile. I think I'd like to wind up in the 12-16 SRM range. Thanks!

Pilsners are more than just beers with pilsner malt, they are always fermented with lager yeast. 9 lbs of extract will also get you a much stronger beer than a pilsner, if you care. Odds are it will be darker than BeerSmith predicts anyway, it is tough to get a really pale beer with extract. If you want it darker you could steep a crystal or roasted malt (depending on what flavors you want to add), but that would take it even further away from being a pilsner.

I don’t have a lot of experience with Nugget hops, how about something Belgian?

Hope that helps, good luck (and welcome to the site).