ales - post primary fermentation

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

perfection

Reaction score
I am a student of beverage studies here in India. My questions require typical and theoretical answers where possible.

I have a few questions regarding how ales are handled post primary fermentation. Wherever possible please give answers relevant to commercial production

1) does secondary fermentation apply to and occur in ales?
2) commercially, are ales carbonated during the primary and secondary fermentation and if so to what extent or are they usually force carbonated in bright tanks before packaging possible post filtration assuming they are not bottle or keg conditioned
3) Does di-acetyl rest apply to ales?
4) If secondary fermentation does apply and if di-acetyl rest does apply, are temperatures for them different compared to the ale fermentation temperatures?

Thanks guys for any help on these issues

1. It depends on what you mean when you are referring to "secondary fermentation." See secondary fermentation is a bit of a misnomer, and causes confusion to many, especially new brewers.... As it's commonly used- racking a beer off the yeast and into another tank. To take it off the yeastcake and to let the beer clear. As most folks use it in this way, like I said it's a misnomer... because it's not about fermentation at this point....it's about a vessel called a secondary.

This is typical the Brite tank (as an alternative term) a place to let yeast settle out and bulk condition the beer. In fact many of us have adopted the term Brite tank instead of secondary fermenter to avoid the confusion.