Advice on purchasing/putting together a chest freezer fermentation chamber

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sledgewinston

Reaction score
I am fairly new to brewing and have come to realize how important fermentation temps are for the quality of a beer, so i am going to go for it and buy a chest freezer to convert into a fermentation chamber. my beers are currently at the mercy of my house thermostat which is inconsistent to say the least. since this is something i dont know much about, id like to get some advice. id like to know kind of setups have worked for you? what brands you would recommend for chest freezer or temp controller? what do you use for the heating element (heat bulb? heat wraps for carboys?) what kind of difference you noticed when switching to this type of fermentation? any advice on this subject would be much appreciated as i will likely be getting one within the next couple weeks. thanks!

Check the DIY forums, there are many many styles of ferm chamber and even options outside of a chamber in which you place a carboy (or bucket).

Most rely on the STC/ITC thermostats (~$16-20 on amazon) that will need basic electrical knowledge to wire up (dont worry there are guides and we are here to help ensure you dont zap yourself).

My fermentation chamber (linked in my sig.) is based on a mini fridge and works well enough for me. I havent actually hooked up the heating element (an old ceramic heater from my reptile terrarium) because its inside and I havent needed it yet.

So basically, yes and/or no to all of your questions, and they all spur more questions of their own!