Advice for my next step

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

scorpien222

Reaction score
I have been brewing for a good six months now beer an wine all of the beer I have done so far has been from kits I am wanting to take the step from kits and more to extract brewing (I don't have the space for a mash tun at the moment).
Any advice on simple starter recipes I am wanting to start with maybe just a one gallon batch as I only have a pan big enough for that.

I

By kits do you mean pre-hopped extract a la Coopers? Or steeping grain with extract kits? That will help someone know what your next step should be.

Get a kit with unhopped extract and steeping grains. No matter what the kit says, keep the steeping water around 155°F which I find better (some say up to 170, I think thats too hot) and steep for about 30 minutes. Or if you want to start slower, get a simple kit with just extract and hops.

Northern brewer has a TON of kits, and so far all but one has turned out very good, and that was MY fault, not the kit! They also ship fast, usually I can order monday and get package Friday. Their instructions are very well-written, as well.