Adjusting grain bill due to good efficiency?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BansheeRider

Reaction score
I have been brewing AG for a couple months. I get about 80-85% efficiency with my setup and I am just realizing that I need to adjust the recipe to keep the beer within style correct? I was inputing a recipe into beer smith from Northern Brewer and the expected OG is off the chart due to my efficiency. How do you guys adjust for this? Less base malts and specialty grains or what? I also realized that if adjusting the grain bill the hop additions must be adjusted as well.

I don't know how others do it but I just keep the recipe percentages the same. If your gravity is the same as the original recipe it shouldn't affect the hop additions.

I don't know how others do it but I just keep the recipe percentages the same. If your gravity is the same as the original recipe it shouldn't affect the hop additions.

My OG is always very high compared to the original recipe due to my efficiency. The buttering hops need to be adjusted due to the higher gravity.

My OG is always very high compared to the original recipe due to my efficiency. The buttering hops need to be adjusted due to the higher gravity.

Yes but you said you're going to adjust the grainbill to fit the recipe. If you do that don't adjust the hops.