ABV too low / FG to high

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Evan Kingsbury

Reaction score
Hi everyone-

I am new to home brewing. So far I have brewed (5) one-gallon batches. Each time, my OG is in the ball park, but my FG ends up way too high; resulting in a low ABV beer.

On my recent brew, I made a Sierra Nevada pale ale clone. Out of the mash, my OG was right on target at 1.054. After a 90 minute boil, my OG had dropped to 1.045 (not sure how that happened).

I used Safale US-05 dry yeast. After 11 days in the carboy, I checked FG, it was 1.025. I gave the carboy another 10 days, then checked again. FG is still at 1.025.

I am beyond frustrated. I have the same low ABV results no matter what I brew. Any ideas where I am going wrong? Thanks in advance!

You either measured the pre-boil and post-boil readings incorrectly, or you added water. The post-boil gravity can't be less than the pre-boil gravity.

With regards to the high final gravity there could be several things. Mash temperature and oxygenation are the two I am thinking of. The other would be your recipe - if it has a lot of unfermentables then you could end up with high FG.

The fact that your pre-boil and post-boil drop doesn't make sense makes me wonder if your FG reading is correct.

It might be helpful if you include a little more info on your mash temps, fermentation temps and aeration techniques.
Regardless of numbers...hows the beer?

Iseneye-

I have a feeling that the difference in my pre and post boil OG readings is due to temperature. For the pre boil reading the wort was likely 150 degrees F. I probably forgot to let it cool before using the refractometer. The post boil reading would have been 70 degrees F.