A question on fermentation temperature

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jayjay

Reaction score
Hi
I am pretty new to homebrewing so this might be quite the rookie question, but....

So far i have brewed 2 batches where i have "controlled" the fermentation temperature by regulating floor heating and reading the temperature of the room by measuring the temperature in a water bottle standing next to my fermentor and assuming that the temperature of the water in the bottle is around the same as the temperature of the fermenting beer.

However, i just learned today that the fermentation itself will generate a rise in temperature.

So is the method im currently using flawed in this regard, and will it have a negative impact on my final product?

Cheers

So is the method im currently using flawed in this regard,

Yes.

and will it have a negative impact on my final product?

That depends on how warm your fermenting wort/beer is getting, what yeast strain you're using, what style you're brewing, and what your personal goals/preferences for the beer are. The important point is that if you want to control fermentation temperatures, you need to be measuring the temperature inside the fermenter and keeping that at whatever temp you want .

Right i see your point. Any suggestion of a method that doesnt break the bank?

Yes.

That depends on how warm your fermenting wort/beer is getting, what yeast strain you're using, what style you're brewing, and what your personal goals/preferences for the beer are. The important point is that if you want to control fermentation temperatures, you need to be measuring the temperature inside the fermenter and keeping that at whatever temp you want .[/QUOTE

Around 21 celsius