3-tier wooden brew stand help

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BeerdedBrewer

Reaction score
Hi everyone, brewbie here, have been reading forums/threads for a couple months since I started brewing. Great place to get questions answered for sure. Decided to join HBT today, so here I am! Thinking of building a wooden brew stand, likely 3-tiered for gravity feed. Have seen a few examples out there, just wondering how concerned I should be about the flames from the burners? Assuming if I'm using stand contained burners, within the structure, should be fine? Or do some folks put a metal "flashing" on the upper, inner, lower sides of the wood frame where the burner sits? Would be grateful for any tips, pics or plans, if anyone has any. Cheers!:beard:

I use large 20x20 inch tile left over from our house under my burners.

I also use the tile between the burner and cooler MLT when heating sparge water.

BeerdedBrewer,

How many burners do you plan to use? Everybody has a different preference on how many they want to use. I only have one burner on my 3-Tier stand. I have a burner on the ground for the boil kettle. The Strike water and Mash Tun are both in coolers. It's a bit cheaper that way but you have to manage your time/brew process a bit more to make sure you have the right temp water when you want it. I have not had any issues with heat from the lower burner to the middle shelf however the spacing on my set up is probably larger than you would have if it would part of the stand itself. Here is my set up.

GravityStand_InUse2.JPG

GravityStand_Storage2.JPG

M1k3, like the tile idea, thanks!

Nice, tidy set up Groundchuck, I like the compactness of it (my eventual set up will be in an already crowded garage), thanks for the tips/pics. :beard: