Impact of sugar additions to primary?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BinghamtonEd

Reaction score
So, me being a brewing rookie, I have a question regarding the addition of sugars to the primary during the later stages of fermentation. And no, I am not doing this right now, but I stumbled across the process online and have some questions, just out of pure curiosity. It seems as if the main purpose of doing this is to boost ABV and/or dry out a beer.

My question is : When one adds sugar to the primary after the bulk of fermentation has completed, how does this impact the duration of fermentation? Obviously, one would think that it would extend it, but is their a general rule of thumb (i.e. 1lb added to 5g takes about a week to ferment out with US-05)? Would you take a gravity reading prior to the addition and then another after a week or so and use that as your basis for determining whether it is done or not?

No rule of thumb that I know of...but, if anything takes a week with US-05 you probably are doing something wrong :). You can take gravity before and after, that is really up to you. I personally only take a final gravity reading at kegging. My exceptions are occasionally taking a reading when fermentation slows up when doing a high gravity beer to make sure I don't have any issues as this is the point where you can still make adjustments to save yourself from getting a stuck fermentation or if the fermentation seems to be abnormal I will take one for diagnostic purposes. Otherwise, my process is to let the beer sit a week or two after fermentation appears to have ended so I know I will hit terminal gravity before going to keg...no reason to waste 6 ounces of beer just to see :).